When is the deadline to file a reporter’s record in Texas?

When is the deadline to file a reporter’s record in Texas?

The deadline to file the reporter’s record is generally 60 days after the trial court’s judgment was signed. See Texas Rule of Appellate Procedure 35.1. However, the deadline is generally 120 days after the trial court’s judgment was signed if a party filed a timely motion for new trial, motion to modify the judgment, or request for findings of fact and conclusions of law (if the court of appeals is allowed to consider findings of fact and conclusions of law). See Texas Rule of Appellate Procedure 35.1(a) and 26.1(a). In an accelerated appeal, the deadline is generally 10 days after the notice of appeal was filed. See Texas Rule of Appellate Procedure 35.1(b) and 26.1(b). The deadline to file the reporter’s record is generally not the responsibility of the parties to the appeal. Rather, the trial court’s court reporter is generally responsible for meeting the deadline to file the reporter’s record. See Texas Rule of Appellate Procedure 35.3(b).

Back to Frequently Asked Questions

DISCLAIMER