When is the deadline to file a notice of appeal in Texas?

When is the deadline to file a notice of appeal in Texas?

As a general rule, the deadline to file a notice of appeal is 30 days after the final judgment was signed. See Texas Rule of Appellate Procedure 26.1. However, if there was a deadline-extending document (e.g., motion for new trial, motion to modify judgment, request for findings of fact and conclusions of law in a case where these could properly be considered by the appellate court) timely-filed, the deadline to file a notice of appeal is generally 90 days after the judgment was signed. See Texas Rule of Appellate Procedure 26.1. For an accelerated appeal, the deadline to file a notice of appeal is twenty days after the judgment or order was signed, and this deadline is not extended by filing any sort of deadline-extending document. See Texas Rule of Appellate Procedure 26.1(b). If a party wishes to have the deadline extended to file a notice of appeal, that party has a deadline of fifteen days after the notice of appeal was due to file (1) the notice of appeal and (2) a motion to extend the deadline for filing the notice of appeal. See Texas Rule of Appellate Procedure 26.3.

Back to Frequently Asked Questions

DISCLAIMER